Teriyaki! Oh my!

So the word is they’re keeping Todd McLellan and firing his assistants.  Who called it?  Now lets see what player changes Doug Wilson makes.  I’m calling it now.  Torrey Mitchell, Dominic Moore, Jim Vandermeer, and Colin White are gone.  If anyone gets traded, it’s going to be Ryane Clowe or Michal Handzus.

So seeing as how I haven’t been cooking with friends as of late, I’ve been resorting to eating out a lot which has been hard on my wallet and hard on my health.  The thing is, I love restaurant food.  LOVE it.  So here’s an idea: why not cook the same things at home?  I decided to do some research on different recipes and see what turns up.

Lately I’ve had a lot of Sarku (http://www.sarkujapan.com/) lately, so I figured I’d start with Chicken Teriyaki.

Chicken teriyaki

Here’s what I found:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/teriyaki-and-pineapple-chicken/detail.aspx
Chicken Teriyaki and Pineapple Chicken via AllRecipies.com

Why I like it: Simple to make and fast.
Why I don’t like it: It relies on pre-made teriyaki sauce, and I kind of want to learn.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/kevins-teriyaki-chicken/detail.aspx
Kevin’s Teriyaki Chicken

Why I like it: It had a homemade teriyaki marinade.
Why I don’t like it: It requires a barbecue/grill. This I don’t have. Nor do I have money to buy a grill and I’m not quite sure if a Foreman grill will cut it.

English: A typical 'George Foreman Grill' in a...

I bet you thought this would be good at grilling…NOOOOPE.  George Foreman.

One of these two recipes will be executed within the next week (most likely the former.) Posts will follow!

Also, I wanted to post about teriyaki sauce itself.  I.E., what are its origins (besides it being Japanese) and how it is traditionally made.  Anything any of you readers could recommend as far as finding that information?

P.S. – I love Foreman grills.  I just really wanted to make the Chuck Testa reference.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

